Daniel Purcell


The Judgment of Paris

One of four settings of a libretto by William Congreve (the others were by John Eccles, John Weldon and Gottfried Finger) as part of a composition, designed to kickstart English opera in 1701. Full of attractive music - with three very keenly characterised goddesses! - Purcell's setting deserves to be better known.

Click here to see the opening of the introductory movement.

Edited by William Russell.
ISMN 979-0-708142-00-3
Scoring: SSSTB soloists, SATB choir, 2 trumpets, timpani, 2 recorders, 4-part oboe band, strings, continuo.
PLEASE NOTE: If you plan a performance of this work, please email us directly so that we can discuss your requirements and offer you a competitive quote.
This edition does not include a continuo realization. If you require one, please tick the box. Remember, to produce a continuo part takes time - if you are concerned about timescale, please email us.


Music in "The Unhappy Penitent"

Catharine Trotter's The unhappy penitent was performed in London's Drury Lane Theatre on 4th and 5th February 1701, with music by Daniel Purcell and Gottfried Finger.
This suite of eight movements (including a terrific final "chacone") was printed by Walsh. It suits strings and winds equally.
1. Ouverture 2. Aire 3. Aire 4. Bouree 5. Slow Aire 6. Aire 7. Hornpipe 8. Chaconne

Edited by Brian Clark.
Scoring: 2 violins, viola, continuo. [Will also work on double reeds]